EyeClick Logo
Get a Quote
EyeClick Logo

Best Interactive Floor Projectors (2026): A Buyer's Guide

This guide compares EyeClick, Lumoplay, and ActiveFloor across sensing technology, content depth, segment fit, price, portability, installation, and support. An interactive floor projector turns an ordinary floor into a responsive surface that reacts to movement - people step, walk, and gesture, and the projected games and visuals respond in real time. Complete systems typically run from about $5,000 to $50,000, and the 3 criteria that decide most purchases are the input method (no-touch motion vs a touch/contact surface), the depth and fit of the content library for your setting, and what the price actually includes (hardware only, or hardware plus content, installation, and support).

This is a vendor-neutral buyer's guide. EyeClick publishes it and is one of the systems compared, but every competitor fact below is taken from each vendor's own public information as of June 2026, kept general where a vendor does not publish a comparable specific. Prices and specifications change; confirm current details with each vendor before you buy.

Comparing vendors? You're in the right place. Ready to evaluate EyeClick directly? Explore our interactive floor projector systems, models, pricing, and installation.

Buying summary

When you compare EyeClick models, check: Will the system stay in 1 room or move between rooms? Which surfaces do you need: floor, wall, table or sandtable? What must the quote include: hardware, content, installation, warranty and support?

Stays in 1 room, ceiling-mounted:

  • Obie: Floor, wall, table and sandtable. Fixed ceiling-mounted system for floor, wall and table play. It also supports sandtable play, which the other 3 models do not.
  • BEAM SE: Floor, wall and table. Has the highest published lumen rating of the 4, with straight-ahead projection. EyeClick confirms the supported mounting height for your room.
  • BEAM Pro: Floor, wall and table. A larger image than BEAM SE at the same distance; its angled projection needs a 50 cm setback.

Moves between rooms, portable stand:

  • BEAM Mobile: Floor and table. Moves between rooms on a portable stand, with no ceiling mounting and no wall projection.

Compare modelsWhat a quote includesNext step and quote

Interactive floor projector comparison (2026)

The table compares the interactive-floor systems most often shortlisted, on the criteria that drive the decision: input method, content depth, the segments each is built for, published starting price, portability, install and AV needs, and support and longevity. Cells read "by quote" or "not publicly published" where a vendor does not publish that detail - that is a fact about disclosure, not a judgment.

VendorInput methodContent depthPrimary segmentsPrice fromPortabilityInstall / AVSupport / longevity
EyeClick (Beam, Obie)No-touch motion (depth camera)350+ floor games; thousands of EyeWiz education templates; 100+ senior activitiesEducation, therapy / special-ed, senior care, FEC / entertainment$5,796 (published)Ceiling-mount or portable stand; Beam Pro Mobile has a wheeled caseComplete pre-calibrated system; installs in under 2 hours, no construction20+ years in market; year 1 of software, content updates, and support included
Mantong (mtprojection)Motion (camera-based)Game packs marketed by the hundreds; verify the exact library at quoteEntertainment, playgrounds, kids venuesBy quoteCeiling or wall-mount configurationsProjector + sensor hardware supplierHardware vendor; confirm warranty and support terms directly
ActiveFloorMotion (camera-based)MyFloor game portal with playlists; no single published countEducation, therapy, senior careEUR 3,700-11,900 hardware (VAT excl.), MyFloor license from EUR 1,020 / 12 mo (separate)Separate floor and wall modelsInstallation and training sold as paid add-on servicesLicense includes service and support
Lu Interactive (LU)Motion (3D camera)30+ apps out of the box; optional subscription adds moreSchool gyms, physical educationBy quoteFixed gym-scale wall install (needs at least 8 ft x 14 ft of clear wall)Professional gym installation; wall-only projectionMinimum 1-year parts-and-labor warranty
OM Interactive (OMi)Motion (camera-based)Activity packs across play, education, and SEN; verify count at quoteEducation, SEN / special-ed, dementia / sensory careBy quoteCeiling-mount and portable units offeredSupplied as packaged interactive unitsUK-based vendor; confirm warranty and support terms directly
GestureTekMotion (gesture / camera-based)Interactive displays and apps; not sold as a fixed game countMuseums, attractions, public installations, custom projectsBy quoteTypically fixed, project-specific installationsOften bespoke / integrated AV projectsLong-established gesture-tech vendor; project-based support
Boogie / BouncyFloorMotion (camera-based)Game library marketed for play venues; verify the exact set at quoteFEC / entertainment, kids play spacesBy quoteMounted projection unitsProjection-based attraction hardwareEntertainment-focused vendor; confirm support terms directly
Lumoplay (software)Motion (you supply the depth camera)Advertises 350+ apps; new apps added monthlyDIY / technically confident buyersSoftware subscription (incl. a free tier); hardware self-sourcedDepends on the hardware you buildYou supply, assemble, and calibrate projector, depth camera, and PCSoftware support via help center; you maintain the hardware

All competitor details above are taken from each vendor's public information as of June 2026 and are kept general where a vendor does not publish a comparable figure. "By quote" means the vendor does not publish a starting price, not that it is more or less expensive. Always confirm current pricing, warranty, and library details with the vendor directly.

For each option's limits and when it may fit better than EyeClick, see Alternatives compared below.

How to choose an interactive floor projector

Use these 7 criteria to shortlist. They are ordered roughly by how often they decide the purchase.

1. Motion vs touch

This is the most consequential choice. A no-touch motion floor reads body movement with an overhead depth camera - there is no contact layer, no pressure mat, and no wearable, so the floor itself is ordinary and has nothing to wear out or sanitize, and several people can play at once. A touch/contact floor relies on a physical surface a user presses or steps through. For shared, high-traffic, clinical, and senior-care settings, motion is usually preferred for hygiene, durability, and multi-user play. Touch can suit small fixed kiosks. Most of the vendors in the table above are motion-based; confirm the input method before you compare anything else, because it changes maintenance, hygiene, and longevity.

2. Content library depth and fit

A floor is only as useful as its content, and raw counts can mislead - 500 entertainment games do nothing for a memory-care program. Judge depth by fit: does the library include the specific category you need (movement, curriculum-aligned learning, calming/sensory, reminiscence, or social group play), and is it built for your population rather than repurposed from another? Ask how often content is added and whether updates are included. As a reference point, EyeClick ships 350+ floor games, with thousands of EyeWiz activity templates for K-12 and a 100+ activity senior library; other vendors publish a single number or none, so ask for the category breakdown that matters to you.

3. Segment fit

Vendors specialize. Some are built for school gyms and physical education, some for entertainment venues, some for special-education and dementia care, and a few span several segments. A system tuned for FEC throughput is not automatically right for a sensory room, and vice versa. Match the vendor's primary segment to yours, and prefer one with dedicated content and support for your use case over a general AV supplier. The use-case sections below link to deeper segment guidance.

4. Portability

Decide whether the system lives in one dedicated room or moves. A ceiling mount gives a fixed, calibrated zone with zero setup between sessions - ideal for a single room used repeatedly. If you need to share one system across classrooms, therapy rooms, or sites, look for a floor-stand or cart configuration; EyeClick's Beam Pro Mobile, for instance, ships on a portable stand with a wheeled transport case. Portable rigs and fixed mounts are usually priced differently, so be explicit about which you need when you request a quote.

5. Install and AV requirements

Installation effort varies widely. A complete, pre-calibrated system can be mounted and running in a couple of hours with no construction. A software-only product means you source, assemble, and calibrate the projector, depth camera, and PC yourself. A gym-scale wall system can be a capital project requiring a large clear wall and professional installation. Confirm the clear floor (or wall) area required, ceiling height range, lighting tolerance, and whether installation is included or a paid add-on.

6. Total cost of ownership

Compare like for like. A low hardware price can hide a separate annual software license, paid installation, and paid training; a higher all-in price can include content, the first year of support, and updates. Add up hardware, content/software license, installation, training, and year-1 support, then project the recurring cost in years 2 and 3. For education and care buyers, also check eligibility for grant and cooperative purchasing routes, which can change the net cost materially.

7. Support and product longevity

An interactive floor is a multi-year investment, so the vendor's track record and support model matter. Ask how long the company has been in the category, what the warranty covers, how support is delivered, and whether content keeps being added. A no-touch motion design also tends to last longer in heavy-use environments because there is no contact surface to wear out. EyeClick has been in the interactive-projection market for 20+ years; for any vendor, ask for references in your segment.

Best interactive floor by use case

The right system depends heavily on where it will be used. Below is the short version for each major segment, with a link to deeper guidance.

Schools and K-12 classrooms

For education, prioritize curriculum-aligned content, whole-class operation with no per-student device, and grant or cooperative-purchasing eligibility. Movement-based learning keeps students engaged who disengage from seated or screen-based instruction. A motion floor that works at the class level (no logins, no tablets) fits a classroom, gym, or multi-purpose room. EyeClick's education platform offers thousands of EyeWiz activity templates across math, literacy, science, and social-emotional learning. See interactive floor projection for classrooms and K-12 education.

Sensory rooms and special education

For sensory and special-education use, prioritize no-touch interaction, predictable cause-and-effect feedback, and a library that includes low-stimulation, calming activities alongside active ones. The floor is one component of the active zone of a sensory room, not the whole room. A touch-free, motion-based floor lets a student interact through movement without holding equipment or following complex instructions. See interactive floor projection for sensory rooms and special education.

Senior and memory care

For senior living and memory care, prioritize accessibility from a seated or standing position, content built for older adults (gentle physical activity, cognitive stimulation, reminiscence, social group play), and a vendor that supports the activity-programming workflow. A no-touch floor lets residents - including those living with dementia - participate by responding to visual cues without needing to operate a device. EyeClick offers a 100+ activity senior library used in assisted living, memory care, and adult day programs. See interactive floor projection for senior and memory care.

Family entertainment centers and FECs

For entertainment venues, the metrics are dwell time, repeat-visit rate, and throughput. Prioritize a large, repeatable game library, simultaneous multi-player capacity across the projection zone, and durable no-touch hardware that survives heavy daily use. An interactive floor becomes an active destination that does not require queuing for a single-player experience. See interactive floor projection for entertainment venues.

Alternatives compared: limits and when each fits better

Floor projector searches show buyers more than the vendors in the table above: software you run on your own hardware, DIY builds, all-in-one units with listed prices, rolling floor stations, licensed installed systems, sensory units and care-focused table projection. Each vendor entry below comes from that vendor's or its named distributor's public pages, read on September 25, 2026; the DIY entry comes from an Instructables project page read the same day. Prices are shown as published, in the vendor's currency. Where a detail is not on the vendor's pages, the entry says so.

LUMOplay (software on your own hardware)

What it is
Interactive software from LUMO Interactive that you run on your own Windows PC, 3D camera and projector.
Mounting
Ceiling or wall mounted with your own mounts, or a portable build on a stand or road case (LUMOplay publishes a portable build guide).
Content, as the vendor states it
350+ apps and games on its pricing page (its homepage FAQ says over 300), plus Motion Maker for custom effects and games without coding, and a free Unity SDK.
Published price
Playground plan US$263.11 per system per year or US$33.50 per month; Playmaker plan US$585.10 per system per year; software only. LUMOplay estimates around $2,000 to $2,500 for a new computer, projector, 3D camera and mounting hardware.
You supply
The computer, 3D camera, projector, mounts and projection surface; installation with its illustrated setup guides or a local installer you hire.
Limits and unknowns
Included apps are designed for areas up to about 16 ft x 9 ft; 1 game or effect at a time per computer; a Windows 10 or 11 PC is required (Macs are not supported). LUMOplay states that subscription payments are non-refundable once the software is downloaded.
May fit better when
You already own a compatible projector and Windows PC or have in-house IT or AV help and prefer a software-only subscription, or the project is an event, agency or custom-content build.
EyeClick may fit better when
You want projector hardware, motion sensor, content, installation guidance, warranty and support in 1 quote, without sourcing and calibrating a PC, camera and projector yourself.

Source: lumoplay.com, read September 25, 2026.

DIY builds and consumer projectors

What it is
A projector, computer and camera running software you install and maintain yourself.
Mounting
Whatever you build; an Instructables guide uses a projector on a tripod at 4 ft or higher.
Content, as the vendor states it
Whatever you code or download (the guide uses free OBS Studio and a self-written program).
Published price
No price for the category as a whole. For a software-based build, see the LUMOplay estimate above.
You supply
Projector, computer, webcam or 3D camera, software, mounting or tripod, and your own setup time.
Limits and unknowns
The build, calibration and upkeep are your own work.
May fit better when
Home or hobby use, a very small budget, and the time and skill to build and maintain it.
EyeClick may fit better when
Commercial or institutional daily use where you want 1 vendor for hardware, content, warranty and support. A DIY setup may involve separate hardware, software and installation providers.

Source: instructables.com, read September 25, 2026.

KL Multimedia (KLEADER)

What it is
A maker in Wuhan, China, selling indoor ceiling, waterproof outdoor and mobile-stand floor systems, and a sensor kit for your own projector and computer.
Mounting
Indoor ceiling units, waterproof outdoor units, mobile stand units, or a sensor kit.
Content, as the vendor states it
50+ 3D games (page description), provided free with purchase, and an SDK for custom development.
Published price
Interactive floor projector systems listed at $2,500 to $4,500, depending on hardware specs.
You supply
For the sensor kit: the computer, projectors and cables. For a quote: floor length and width, indoor or outdoor use, and ceiling height.
Limits and unknowns
Recommended installation height 3 to 4 m; the sensor kit covers indoor areas of 4 x 3 m or less in moderate or lower ambient light. Warranty terms, US service and import costs are not stated on the pages read.
May fit better when
An outdoor, multi-projector or SDK-based custom installation, with a buyer comfortable importing and configuring hardware from an overseas maker.
EyeClick may fit better when
You want installation guidance, warranty and support stated in your quote.

Source: klmultimedia.com, read September 25, 2026.

Infinity Projectors

What it is
All-in-one and mobile interactive projectors from Lake Worth, Florida, sold through an online store with cart checkout.
Mounting
The All-In-One needs a ceiling mount kit for floor projection; the Mobile Laser Tower and GamePlay360 are mobile units.
Content, as the vendor states it
All-In-One: 45+ interactive games. Mobile Laser Tower: more than 80 games. GamePlay360: 48 sports-themed games.
Published price
All-In-One (3,200 to 4,500 lumens) $2,888.88 to $4,388.88; Mobile Laser Interactive Floor Projector Tower (4,500 lumens) $4,188.88; GamePlay360 $12,098.80; radar sensor add-on $488.88.
You supply
A ceiling mount position for floor projection with the All-In-One.
Limits and unknowns
The All-In-One is for indoor use, and its camera sensor suits well-lit indoor rooms (radar is recommended for high-traffic permanent installs). Warranty length, installation service and content update terms are not stated on the pages read.
May fit better when
You want a listed price and online checkout, for example for events or parties.
EyeClick may fit better when
You want a content library for education, senior care or entertainment and a quote that states installation guidance, warranty and support.

Source: infinityprojectors.com, read September 25, 2026.

Smart & Active Mobile Interactive Floor Projection Station

What it is
An all-in-one rolling floor station from Smart & Active in Miami, Florida. Smart & Active states that it comes with a lifetime software license, no subscription and a 5-year warranty.
Mounting
A steel station on locking wheels; no ceiling mount.
Content, as the vendor states it
130+ preinstalled games (educational, health and entertainment) plus a Game Creator.
Published price
Not published; inquiry form and free consultation.
You supply
A power outlet. Internet is optional, for updates and support.
Limits and unknowns
Adjustable interactive area of 60 to 95 in by 88 to 144 in. Projector brightness is not stated on the pages read.
May fit better when
A school wants 1 rolling floor station moved between classrooms with no ceiling work and prefers the lifetime license with no subscription that Smart & Active states.
EyeClick may fit better when
You want a choice between ceiling-mounted Obie, BEAM SE or BEAM Pro and the portable BEAM Mobile, or you need EyeClick's content libraries: 350+ games, thousands of education templates and activities, or 100+ senior activities.

Source: smartandactive.org, read September 25, 2026.

ActiveFloor

What it is
A Danish maker (US headquarters in Duluth, Minnesota) selling installed floor models and a portable model with a time-limited MyFloor license.
Mounting
Installed floor models (ONE3, PRO3, Flat PRO3 for low ceilings, MAX3 Premium) and a portable, height-adjustable MobileMAX3.
Content, as the vendor states it
MyFloor platform with a game library and an editor to adapt or create games; no library count stated.
Published price
Hardware prices and a separately priced MyFloor license are listed on its prices page; see the ActiveFloor row in the comparison table above.
You supply
A flat area of at least 3.2 x 2 m and power; installed models also call for about 2.7 m of ceiling height. Dimmed light is recommended.
Limits and unknowns
Its FAQ says ActiveFloor handles installation, while its prices page lists installation, training, content and shipping as add-ons quoted by a sales partner; confirm which applies to you.
May fit better when
A school wants a platform where teachers edit and build their own floor games, or you want published MSRP figures before a sales call.
EyeClick may fit better when
You want 1 quote covering hardware, content for your audience, installation guidance, warranty and support rather than separate hardware, license and add-on lines, or the room has no ceiling mount position (BEAM Mobile uses a portable stand).

Source: activefloor.com, read September 25, 2026.

OM Interactive (OMi) omiVista

What it is
Sensory projection units from UK maker OM Interactive, sold in the US and Canada by SensoryOne.
Mounting
omiVista Mobii is a 4-wheeled, height-adjustable mobile unit; omiVista Install is fixed to the ceiling and projects onto tables or floors; omiVista Wall is ceiling-mounted for walls.
Content, as the vendor states it
A Sensory Suite with more than 300 preloaded activities on all models, optional Autism, Care/Dementia and Ball Games suites, and uploads of your own images, videos and music.
Published price
Not published; demo and quote only.
You supply
A ceiling mounting point for the Install and Wall models.
Limits and unknowns
Image size by mounting height and warranty terms are not stated on the pages read. SensoryOne states that no internet connection is required and that there are no annual subscription or license fees.
May fit better when
The main use is a sensory room, special-needs program or dementia care, including bedside or tray use, or you want to upload personal photos and music for reminiscence work.
EyeClick may fit better when
You are buying for an entertainment venue and want EyeClick's library of 350+ games.

Source: sensoryone.com, read September 25, 2026.

Magic Carpet (Sensory Guru)

What it is
A sensory floor unit from Sensory Guru in the UK; Magic Carpet is its product name, not a general category.
Mounting
Mobile Magic Carpet on a height-adjustable wheeled frame, or Magic Carpet Installed for permanent rooms.
Content, as the vendor states it
Over 500 interactive activities included (product page), controlled from an iOS or Android app, with eye tracking and touch inputs supported.
Published price
Mobile Magic Carpet GBP 8,495.00, excluding VAT, on its UK online shop.
You supply
Power. The listed unit includes the PC, laser projector, speakers, camera, frame and a white vinyl projection mat.
Limits and unknowns
Unit weight 52 kg; image sizes up to 3.6 m. A US price and US distributor were not confirmed on the pages read.
May fit better when
A special school, adult care setting, or hospital needs eye-tracking or touch input, or bed or tray use.
EyeClick may fit better when
You want a quote that states installation guidance, warranty and support.

Source: sensoryguru.com, read September 25, 2026.

Tovertafel (Tover)

What it is
A care-focused projection system from Tover in the Netherlands. Tovertafel 3 is marketed primarily for seated group play on a table; Tover's FAQ also says it can project onto a table, floor, or other surface. Tovertafel Pixie is a wheeled mobile model.
Mounting
Tovertafel 3 is ceiling-mounted over a table and ships with 2 ceiling mounts to move between rooms; Tovertafel Pixie is a wheeled mobile unit.
Content, as the vendor states it
Games for 5 cognitive levels, co-designed with care professionals, in a Plus (2-year subscription) or Complete (paid once) game package.
Published price
Not published; quote only (an upfront hardware purchase plus a game package). Not available to rent.
You supply
For Tovertafel 3: a weight-bearing mounting point, a nearby power point and a table for players to sit around.
Limits and unknowns
The Pixie US page shows a waitlist, not a buy path. Price, number of games and warranty length are not stated on the pages read.
May fit better when
Seated group activity in dementia or intellectual disability care is the primary use.
EyeClick may fit better when
You are buying primarily for active floor play and want a system marketed for education, children's play, entertainment, or mixed-use rooms rather than primarily seated care use.

Source: tover.care, read September 25, 2026.

If EyeClick is on your shortlist: which system fits your room

EyeClick makes 4 models. Will the system stay in 1 room, or move between rooms? Start there, then compare what sets each model apart.

Stays in 1 room

Ceiling-mounted; needs ceiling access

  • Obie

    Floor, wall, table and sandtable

    Fixed ceiling-mounted system for floor, wall and table play. It also supports sandtable play, which the other 3 models do not.

  • BEAM SE

    Floor, wall and table

    Has the highest published lumen rating of the 4, with straight-ahead projection. EyeClick confirms the supported mounting height for your room.

  • BEAM Pro

    Floor, wall and table

    A larger image than BEAM SE at the same distance; its angled projection needs a 50 cm setback.

Moves between rooms

On a portable stand

  • BEAM Mobile

    Floor and table

    Moves between rooms on a portable stand, with no ceiling mounting and no wall projection.

Full specifications and sizes
ModelMountingSurfacesBrightnessPublished floor image sizeWatch-outs
ObieFixed ceiling mountFloor, wall, table and sandtable3,000 lumens, lamp6 ft 1 in x 3 ft 10 in to 7 ft 3 in x 4 ft 6 in at a system height of 8 ft (range = zoom)Lamp
BEAM SECeiling-mountedFloor, wall and table6,000 lumens, laser8.9 x 5.4 ft (273 x 166 cm) at 8 ft from the lens to the floorSlightly smaller image than BEAM Pro at the same distance
BEAM ProCeiling-mountedFloor, wall and table4,000 lumens, laser10 x 6.6 ft (305 x 201 cm) at 8 ft from the lens to the floorNeeds extra space; angled projection (50 cm setback)
BEAM MobilePortable stand, no ceiling mountingFloor and table4,100 lumens, laserFloor 320 x 200 cm (about 10.5 x 6.6 ft); table 130 x 80 cm (about 4.3 x 2.6 ft); nominal fixed size, actual size can vary up to 10%Floor and table only, no wall projection

BEAM Pro and SE sizes are measured from the lens to the floor, not from the ceiling: the ceiling mount adds an extension pole of 15.5 in (closed) to 2 ft (open), so the lens sits below the ceiling. Actual size can vary up to 15% for BEAM Pro and SE and up to 10% for Obie and BEAM Mobile. The Obie and BEAM product pages list sizes at other heights and lens distances; BEAM Mobile has 1 nominal fixed size. EyeClick confirms the usable distance, mounting height and resulting image size for your room.

What an EyeClick quote includes

EyeClick systems start at $5,796 across the product range. Your quote depends on the model, projection surface, room conditions, number of units, content licensing tier and support plan.

What your quote brings together

  • Projector hardware built for commercial, all-day use
  • Motion sensor that responds to movement on the projection surfaces supported by your selected model
  • Available content libraries: 350+ games, thousands of ready-made educational templates and activities, and 100+ activities for senior care
  • Installation guidance for your facilities team or installer
  • Warranty with the coverage period and conditions specified in your purchase documents
  • Support according to the services included in your package

Setup and installation

Setup depends on the model and room. BEAM Mobile uses a portable stand and needs no ceiling mounting. Obie, BEAM SE and BEAM Pro are ceiling-mounted: confirm the mounting position, power and access before you order. Installation guidance is included with every system. Ask which shipping and installation services are included in your quote and which are charged separately. Any third-party installer quote is separate.

Confirm in your quote

Confirm the content-access term, any renewal fees, and the support and warranty coverage in your quote.

See the full EyeClick pricing guide

Frequently asked questions

Interactive floor projection systems generally range from about $5,000 to $50,000 depending on what is included. The spread reflects packaging more than the projection itself: some vendors sell a complete, pre-calibrated system (projector, motion sensor, mounting, and content library in one package), while others sell software separately from hardware you source and assemble yourself, or quote gym-scale installations as a capital project. As a published reference point, EyeClick prices a complete system from $5,796 including the projector, motion sensor, the 350+ game library, and 1 year of software updates and support. When you compare quotes, confirm whether content, installation, and the first year of support are in the price or billed separately.
They are different technologies for different jobs. A motion (camera/depth-sensor) floor reads body movement from above the floor: participants step, walk, and gesture, and the projected content reacts with no physical contact, no pressure mat, and no wearable. A touch floor relies on a contact layer or pressure surface. For shared, high-traffic, or clinical and senior-care settings, motion floors are usually preferred because there is no surface to wear out or sanitize, no per-user device, and multiple people can play at once. Touch can make sense for small fixed kiosks. EyeClick is a no-touch motion platform, which is part of why it is used in education, therapy, senior care, and entertainment where durability and hygiene matter.
For autism and sensory-room use, the criteria that matter most are no-touch interaction, predictable cause-and-effect feedback, and a content library that includes low-stimulation, calming activities alongside active ones. A motion-based, no-touch floor lets a child interact through movement without holding equipment or following complex instructions, and the clear move-here, something-happens-there feedback supports both engagement and regulation. An interactive floor is one component of the active zone of a sensory room, not the whole room. EyeClick systems are used in special-education and sensory settings for exactly these reasons; whichever vendor you evaluate, confirm the library actually includes sensory-appropriate, calming content and not only high-energy games.
In senior living and memory care, look for no-touch interaction that is accessible from a seated or standing position, content designed for older adults (gentle physical activity, cognitive stimulation, reminiscence, and social group play), and a vendor that supports the activity-programming workflow. A touch-free floor lets residents - including those living with dementia - participate by responding to visual cues at floor level, without needing to understand a device or follow multi-step verbal instructions. EyeClick offers a 100+ activity senior library and is used in assisted living, memory care, and adult day programs. As with any vendor, verify the content was built for this population rather than repurposed children’s games.
Yes, if you choose a portable configuration. Ceiling-mounted installations give a fixed, calibrated zone with zero setup between sessions and are the standard for a single dedicated room. For programs that share one system across classrooms, therapy rooms, or sites, several vendors offer a floor-stand or cart configuration instead. EyeClick’s Beam Pro Mobile, for example, ships on a portable stand with a wheeled transport case for multi-room and multi-site use. If portability matters, confirm at quote time whether the price is for a fixed mount or a mobile rig, since they differ.
No. An interactive floor projector is not a touchscreen. Motion-based systems use an overhead projector plus a motion-sensing or depth camera that reads movement in the projection zone; the floor surface itself has no electronics, no pressure layer, and nothing to step through. Participants interact purely through body movement, which is why these systems work on ordinary floors (carpet, vinyl, rubber, hardwood, concrete) with no construction or floor modification. A small number of products in the category use a contact/touch surface instead; if hygiene, durability, or multi-user play matter, confirm whether a system you are evaluating is motion-based or touch-based.